Absolute Beginner: 'Spirit of Iberia' Thomson Celebration April 2018

R17

Had a quick look, but can't find any other threads for this one, so as the title - total newbie to this 'cruising' game and looking forward to this first little experience :cool:

My BIG burning question at present is 'what to do when docked in the ports?' - is it best to prepare/book something or wait until on the boat?

Part of the fun of any holiday is in the planning and if you leave any port destination until your on the ship you could miss out on some amazing trips/sights. However many do just rock up to the destination dek and ask what the crack is for tomorrow.

We tend to like to do a little of both - but it generally depends on the ports themselves. We scan the reviews for the ports from the same cruise before we go - to get an idea of what people have done on previous cruises. Thomson does provide an overview of the port (map, top things to do, how to get around etc) the evening before each port - so if you know a port is an easy 'walk off and do your own thing' type of port before you cruise - you can avoid having to 'plan' for that port and wind the night before and when you get there.

We're doing the same itinerary in November this year (-:

We tend to like to do a little of both - but it generally depends on the ports themselves. We scan the reviews for the ports from the same cruise before we go - to get an idea of what people have done on previous cruises. Thomson does provide an overview of the port (map, top things to do, how to get around etc) the evening before each port - so if you know a port is an easy 'walk off and do your own thing' type of port before you cruise - you can avoid having to 'plan' for that port and wind the night before and when you get there.

We're doing the same itinerary in November this year (-:

Lol then I look forward to your summary, you sound an expert in cruising in comparison to me [emoji5]

Sent from my F3111 using Tapatalk