Questioons RE: Wine lists

marypatrick

I have been following the wine list post and have a few questions. I have been traveling on Seabourn for a few years and have never seen one. if we don't want the pour of the day/meal we are offered others, but it would be so much easier if we knew what was available to begin with.

1. I am assuming that there are some differences in the wine list depending on where the ship goes - is that the case?

2. How does one get hold of a wine list for a cruise? Are they available on the ship, would you go to get one? (Dining room, Bars, Seabourn Square, Waiter, Wine Steward)?

3. Is there a secret to getting one?

thanks

mp

See comments in red below.

I have been following the wine list post and have a few questions. I have been traveling on Seabourn for a few years and have never seen one. if we don't want the pour of the day/meal we are offered others, but it would be so much easier if we knew what was available to begin with.

1. I am assuming that there are some differences in the wine list depending on where the ship goes - is that the case? Yes as they hotel director/maitre'd/sommelier try to buy local wines whenever possible. For example, in Australia/New Zealand

2. How does one get hold of a wine list for a cruise? Are they available on the ship, would you go to get one? (Dining room, Bars, Seabourn Square, Waiter, Wine Steward)? We usually ask the sommelier and generally obtain it without a problem as they send a copy to our suite. However, some are a little reluctant. We have cruised quite a bit on Seabourn, know many of the sommeliers, and buy a number of premium wines throughout the cruise. Thus, we may have an easier time - shouldn't be that way. Either it's available to all or not.

3. Is there a secret to getting one? If you run into a reluctant sommelier, you could ask the hostess/restaurant manager or even Seabourn Square.

thanks

mp