American Queen April 16th 2018

lightgeezer

Well let's start this forum for the American Queen sailing from New Orleans on April 16th. 2018.

We are Neil and Joan from Leeds in the UK and look forward to meeting you all on this thread and in person.

We are arriving in New Orleans four days prior to setting sail to give ourselves plenty of time to see the sights.

• 1 month later...
  • 5 weeks later...
  • 1 month later...

I plan on taking this cruise in Oct 2018. I have never done a river cruise but reading the itinerary, what included and the reviews, it looks like it will be a great cruise. I haven't booked it yet but I hope to soon.

Definitely come back here and let us know how you liked it. Enjoy your April cruise and your stay in New Orleans.:cool:

• 1 month later...
  • 3 months later...

I am on the May 1st cruise from Memphis to New Orleans. I have never done a river cruise before only ocean ones so would love some info. Clothing? Do you dress up for dinner?What do you think of adding premium excursions? Which are a good addition. Any suggestions would be helpful. Thanks

We have done this trip (and a number of other itineraries on the AQ) and have recently booked the Mighty Mississippi trip for next year. It is not formal at all...nice business casual or "country club casual" is the attire of most passengers. We love the hop-on, hop-off buses that let you stop where you want and skip anything you have no particular interest in. We have only done one premium excursion, and that was Vicksburg because my husband has great interest in the Civil War and history in general. It is a wonderful, relaxing way to travel and we cannot wait to be back aboard! (PS - if you want early dining book that right away. One trip we were not able to get an early reservation so ate all of our dinners at the Front Porch. No great hardship, but the dining room is very nice).