Freedom of the Seas Early Trip Report- July 7, 2018

Hi everyone...

My name is Rob. I am from Baltimore, MD (Owings Mills to be exact) and I work as a Operations Director for a Wealth Management Practice affiliated with a large NY based Investment Management Bank. My DW, Lisa, is a Social Worker for one of the hospitals here in Baltimore.

We are taking this cruise to celebrate Lisa's 50th birthday and our 25th anniversary which occurs on July 4th.

We are the proud parents of two wonderful teenagers. Our DD, Allison, is a rising Junior at the University of South Florida and our DS, Jordan is a rising Junior in a private high school here in Baltimore.

This will be our first 7 day cruise that Lisa and I will be taking by ourselves without the children. Allison is currently taking summer classes at USF while we will take Jordan to camp next Sunday morning. We felt it was a great time for us to finally take a week for ourselves and visit the Southern Caribbean an itinerary that we had yet to cruise.

About one month ago, our vacation was put into jeopardy because Lisa had a health scare which required surgery and hospitalization and an extended recovery time of 4 to 6 weeks. Fortunately, she is almost back to normal and will return to work two days before we leave for our vacation. :-)

Ok enough of the background....

We are leaving on Friday, July 6th on an 8:30 AM Southwest flight from BWI to SJU. We will be staying at the Condado Vanderbilt Hotel in an Ocean View King Suite courtesy of Lisa's brother. (Thanks, Paul).

We should arrive at the Vanderbilt by about 2:00 PM on Friday and expect to be poolside by 3:00 PM.

We plan on having dinner somewhere in the Condado area of San Juan.

Between my OCD planning and vacation excitement, we never fly in the day of the cruise so we expect to have a nice day before the cruise in San Juan.

Saturday morning will be a lazy morning before heading over to the Pan American pier to board the Freedom.