Complete Noob

mkcurran

So if a person has never snorkeled before and wants to give it a go on their cruise in six months...

Where does a person even start? Besides realizing she'll never be a mouth breather and ordering a full face mask?

Do I need fins? Practice will take place in a pool. I'm a natural floater...I don't dive, and don't plan on doing much diving.

So if a person has never snorkeled before and wants to give it a go on their cruise in six months...

Where does a person even start? Besides realizing she'll never be a mouth breather and ordering a full face mask?

Do I need fins? Practice will take place in a pool. I'm a natural floater...I don't dive, and don't plan on doing much diving.

The best advice I can give you is to find a dive shop in your area, and take a snorkeling class. The small cost (less than a single snorkeling excursion) will help you get much more enjoyment out of your trip, and you will be far more confident and comfortable.

Harris

Denver, CO

I am relatively new to snorkeling and similar to you in being a natural floater, no diving (yet).

I second the recommendation to find a dive shop to try on equipment, especially to have your own mask. I've heard mixed things about the full face mask re: CO2 build-up, and if you plan to do any diving it won't work for that.

Practicing first sounds ideal. My first experience was on a NCL excursion in Roatan, Honduras. The guides were excellent and I loved everything I could see, but if I'd practiced before I'm sure I'd have been more comfortable and seen even more. Our second trip was a Carnival excursion in Nassau, and even though it had only been 2 years I struggled more with relaxing and remembering what to do (there was no real instruction for it).