Viking newbie with many questions

LadyCarolingian

Hello everybody,

Please pardon the long post! I am considering (like my wallet is 2 feet from my computer level of considering :D) Viking Star's January 4th Rome to Barcelona sailing. This would be my first Viking cruise, and my second overall. I did Holland America's Voyage of the Vikings crossing over the summer.

I would be traveling solo and so would have to accept the heavy single supplement. Frankly, I'm trying to figure out if it's worth it. I've contacted Viking with some of my questions, but haven't received any answers, and other questions are more of a "getting a feel" type.

I'm a professional historian and part of Viking's appeal is its interesting itineraries and reputation of culture-intensive tours and general enrichment. I know that a lot of the TED talks, etc., are loaded onto the ship's entertainment system for viewing in one's cabin, but what of on board "in person" activities such as lectures, etc.?

Regarding cabins: this is already super expensive, so I'll be looking at the lower categories. Can somebody comment on the difference between V1 and V2? According to their Viking descriptions, they're identical with no difference in perks or embarkation times, but I've read professional reviews that say that V1, contrary to Viking's website, does not have a mini bar (complimentary or otherwise), while V2 does (but whether it's complimentary is also unclear).

It seems from other posts that the included wine and beer is limited to meals only, and not something one can avail oneself of during happy hour or something similar. The sailing I'm considering has no sea days, so it'd probably just be dinner on board for me.