Excursions in Kauai

sherick

This is my first time posting (ever)!

My husband and I will be stopping in Kauai on a cruise in late September. The ship's excursions are very expensive and we were wondering if there are any excursions that we can do with local providers, either booking before the cruise or getting when we get off the ship.

Anyone have any experience with excursions in Kauai they can share? Thanks

Kauai was our favorite island and I would encourage you to try to see all that you can see while there. Our excursion was through our cruise line. We went to Laydon Beach, Opaekaa Falls, Poipu Beach, Spouting Horn, and Waimea Canyon. If we ever go back, I would feel comfortable enough to rent a car and go to these places on my own.

My husband and I will be stopping in Kauai on a cruise in late September. The ship's excursions are very expensive and we were wondering if there are any excursions that we can do with local providers, either booking before the cruise or getting when we get off the ship.

We booked a multiple island package through Roberts Tours and were very happy. On Kauai, it was the Movie Tour. We also rented a car and it's not a difficult drive to see Waimea Canyon, also Poipu Beach was a great spot.

Renting a car is a good idea if you want to tour the island. Check out Waimea canyon, the red dirt and the view are beautiful. Stop at the Coffee plantation on your way there. The beaches in Poipu will be nice and safe in September (North Shore can have more dangerous seas from October to March). There will be some nice excursions you can do through the cruise line but you can do some of that on your own if you rent a car.

Kauai is beautiful.

sherick which cruise are you taking? Will you have 1 or 2 days there? My recommendations will be different depending on number of days.