Dressing 4 dinner

Welcome to Cruise Critic! If you'd like to participate on our forums by joining in the conversation, please Register Now! Be sure to visit our FAMOUS Roll Call forums, where you can meet other cruisers sailing with you and share a tour or shore excursion and SAVE MONEY!

Unregistered, are you just back from your Thomson cruise? Get published on Cruise Critic; Write a Review!
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
All times are GMT -4.
The time now is 03:28 AM.
2 Posts
Joined Feb 2017
hi
Hello everyone on cruisecritic!
This is my first post so here goes lol
I'm new to cruising, we've booked a cruise for Jan 18 around the Caribbean and as I've never been on a cruise ship I'm not sure what clothes to pack.
Normally on holiday I wear shorts all the time, swimming shorts in the daytime and formal shorts in the evening. Also I wear sandals ALL the time!
So what I would like to know is when wouldn't I be allowed to wear sandals and when wouldn't I be allowed to wear shorts? I'm assuming it might be the evening dinner period but any information would be helpful in helping me decide what to pack & what to buy before sailing
Thanks in advance
Dronfield. NE Derbyshire
451 Posts
Joined Apr 2009
Shorts and sandalls are fine during the day but you would be expected to wear a shirt or t.shirt in the restaurants/bars. In the evening most people wear smart/casual i.e. trousers and an open neck shirt. You would need these to eat in the main dining room, however you can wear shorts in the buffet. Depends what you prefer but most people will be fairly dressed up.
2 Posts
Joined Feb 2017
Originally posted by dronnygirl