Languages onboard

Iriel

Hello, everyone! I'm so loving this website! :D

I'm cruising for the first time on May 11 (Jewel of the Seas) from Civitavecchia. I'm cruising with my parents and we are from Argentina. I understand English (I'm a translator) but they don't, so I'm worried about them missing out on entertainment or activities. My parents are not newbies, they did a Costa cruise to Brazil a few years ago, but I'm a worrier, and since I chose the cruise I would feel awful if they didn't have a great time.

What are your thoughts on this?

Thank you!

Language is primarily English. Depending on the number of non-English speaking guests announcements might be made in other language like Spanish and German. But entertainment will be in English. I’m non-English speaking myself. I find the production shows good and if any other Caribbean Singers and Dancers shows but NOT any comedians or show where you need to have a good understanding of English language.

Some time I sense that the American cruise line tend to forget that not everyone does speak perfect English - most times also speaking very fast.

My advise will be only see shows with primarily Dance and Singing.

Sent from my iPad using Forums

I have not sailed Royal Caribbean, but based on my experiences on several other lines, they will be able to get the menu in different languages, and the daily program will also be available in several languages. EM

I only speak English. Okay, I can say thanks, please, 1 beer, where is the toilet, etc, in multiple languages but that's it.

Have been on 2 European cruises and multiple Caribbean cruises.

As Hallasm said, on American based cruise lines like Royal, Carnival, Celebrity and such, English is spoken in most instances. If there is a large group who's primary language is Spanish let's say, then the ship will make major announcements in multiple languages.