2 Splendor questions!

joshac912

My girlfriend and I will be sailing on the Splendor this October and it’ll be our first cruise. I have a question about embarkation and another about debarkation, here it goes…

Embarkation

I know a lot of people prefer to get on the ship ASAP so they get to the pier very early. However, I’d rather wait till closer to departure time to check in so that we can just walk right on. The Splendor is scheduled to leave at 5, do you think arriving at the pier at 3 be suitable to avoid lines yet not cut it too close? Or maybe later or earlier? What have your experiences been by arriving closer to departure time?

And now my debarkation question.

Luckily I have a late flight to catch, however I’d still like to get off the ship early to have lunch before my flight with a college buddy who lives in LA. I’d need to meet him near LAX by 11am. Would you recommend self assist or normal debarkation to be off the ship by 10 (or the earliest possible). The Splendor is scheduled to debark at 9, so if its on time what time would you guess self assist begins? In order to betowards the front of the self assist line, should we wait in the lobby w/our luggage a half hour or so before we expect self assist to begin?

Any insight into these dilemmas would be much appreciated. CC is such a great resource.

It took everyone at least 2 hours to debark, full inspection... no one probably knows which week carnival does this, but all ships go thru full inspection periodically. Expecting to arrive at 9 am and be to the airport by 11 am sounds like you are cutting it very close. Remember most of the ship will also be doing self assist debarkation.

You have to check in, Carnival says, 90 minutes before the ship leaves, so the final manifest can be turned in. If you hit a snag and got to the ship 59 minutes before the ship leaves, you probably would be turned away. The ship has to cut it off, or leave late.