Let's Bring the QE2 back to Southampton, Feel Free to Join in.

oldsilverfox

Over at wearecunard, Peter Shanks has a blog about his recent visit to the Queen Mary in Long Beach CA.

He appears quite misty eyed about the memories it still evokes and quite enthusiastic about its potential.

My two cents worth in the replies, is well why not bring her back to the UK and have a similar facility here?

She could be used for pre-cruise accommodation, as a tourist attraction and/ or conference centre (crew training centre?).

I understand that she is in relatively good condition and before some of you carp, o.k. she would need significant work to bring her up to modern standards of fire-proofing, but as she wouldn't be going to sea, presumably she would come under SOLAS regulations.

Let the arguments begin !!!!!!!

Couldn't agree more! I'm a newbie to Cunard and I've been reading up on the history and to be honest I've become really addicted to anything Cunard, having never sailed on her or laid eyes on her for that matter, there's nothing I'd like more to be able to explore her! Im 30 and she's captured my iamagination, how cool if she could capture the imagination of even younger being dovked in her home country. I didn't even know what the Qe2 was a few years ago! (head in shame I know) and now there's nothing I want more to see her in the UK.

Couldn't agree more! I'm a newbie to Cunard and I've been reading up on the history and to be honest I've become really addicted to anything Cunard, having never sailed on her or laid eyes on her for that matter, there's nothing I'd like more to be able to explore her! Im 30 and she's captured my iamagination, how cool if she could capture the imagination of even younger being dovked in her home country. I didn't even know what the Qe2 was a few years ago! (head in shame I know) and now there's nothing I want more to see her in the UK.

This link has many pictures of the interior of the QE2.