To use or not to use a travel agent...

mbeaulieu

My friend tells me I will do much better if I book my Royal Caribbean (February 2005) cruise online --as opposed to utilizing my travel agent. Can anyone tell me the pros and cons--I am a newbie at cruising. I booked my DisneyWorld vacation on my own and did fine. But am a bit leary about booking something like a cruise online. Please help!
Thanks.
Michele

Shop right and you'll save a few bucks online (up to 10-15% if you're lucky). But you'll probably have no one holding your hand and watching out for price reductions, or to give you advice about ships, itineraries, or port excursions.

Shop right and you can get a great rate from a live TA, who will do all of the above for you.

Nitemare gave some really good advice.A good TA that specializes in cruises can sometimes do better than online or at least match an online price plus you have the advantage of having help there if you need it. If you are new to cruises this would all play in your favor.

Karen
Ü

Its really pretty simple - ask yourself, do you use a TA to book your airline ticket, your hotel room or your rental car? Then why on earth would you waste your time using one for your cruise?

All the TA's are now going to jump in and tell you that you'll be missing all that tender loving care or the cheap bottle of champagne in your cabin or someone to share your cruise pictures with. Give me the $100 or more you'll save by shopping on the hundreds of online sites and keep the warm and fuzzies.

The best and cheapest fare online will always beat the best and cheapest TA. Now we always argue about what a TA is. To me its the people that sit in the closet size office in the mall sleeping behind the travel brochures.

Peter

Whether or not you call the online services TA's or not, keep in mind that going directly to the cruise line will almost always guarantee the HIGHEST price.