Southwest Customer of Size

Princess Penguin

I’m cruising out of Fort Lauderdale In December and booked my air tickets through Southwest. I’ve had no experience with them as they just started serving my airport. I had no idea about the customers of size policy until recently.

I’m traveling with my mother. On many, but not all, flights I need an extender. We normally raise the armrest between us and we are fine (flown domestically and to Europe without problems). Will this work on Southwest? We’ve paid to get an early onboard number so we should have no problems getting seats together.

This is whole thing is really getting to me and I wish I had booked flights elsewhere. :(

Their policy is found here:

http://www.southwest.com/html/customer-service/extra-seat/

An extender is not the same as the seat width. The arm rest is supposed to be down for take off and landing. Will this be enforced? Who knows. Do you think you can get the arm down? You can always discuss this with the gate agent:

Customers of size who prefer not to purchase an additional seat in advance have the option of purchasing just one seat and then discussing their seating needs with the Customer Service Agent at their departure gate. If it is determined that a second (or third) seat is needed, they will be accommodated with a complimentary additional seat(s).

Edited by 6rugrats

That complimentary seat is ONLY if there is an extra seat on the plane, so you are still in a position to be denied boarding if you cannot confine yourself to the single seat with the armrests down. Unlike your international flights, where the seats could be 2x4x2 and you got the "2" with your mom, WN flights are all 3x3, so if the plane is full, you and your mom will be sharing that row with another person. Or, if a seat is available, that other person in that row may be asked to take a less desirable seat…