Repeaters - how do you rate cruise service today?

Bazel

I have been cruising for about 10 years and have taken about 20 cruises. While all in all I really think that cruising offers the best value for my vacation dollar I feel that either my expectations have really gotten out of whack or overall service levels have really declined.

I fully acknowledge that from ship to ship there can be great variances and while one ship may be great now, all it takes is a change in Hotel Manager to have the entire feel of a ship change.

So with this said ... what do others think? Have you had a GREAT service experience recently? We are getting ready to plan a Spring Caribbean cruise to celebrate a High School Graduation and while we are currently leaning towards the Caribbean Princess - a recent posting about service on that ship has me a bit weary.

Thanks for taking time to share your thoughts!

BZ

am in agreement with you that service levels are declining, I think in large part due to staffing cuts. Certainly the case in the dining room on our last few HAL trips. Not as many servers on duty in the bars either so takes longer to get served. We've only been crusing for 5 years but definitely see things headed in a negative, rather than positive direction.

and with fewer staff expected to do more work, attitudes will invariably worsen as well... I'd rather pay an extra $50 per person and get better service. On HAL ships at about 1600 pax that would be another $80K per cruise..surely they could restore staffing levels with that additional income

Yes, we have also noticed that service is declining overall. And a lot has to do with the hotel manager and if he keeps on top of everything AND the numerous cutbacks in crew. The crew can do only do so much, they have more cabins to clean, more tables and passengers to wait on.