Pre: Ultimate Italy: Tuscany, Florence & Siena

TruJeffie

Hi,

Has anyone taken the Pre or Post: Ultimate Italy: Tuscany, Florence & Siena extension that Viking is selling? My sister and myself are thinking about adding this to our Mediterranean Odyssey cruise departing August 23rd on the Viking Sea.

If so did you enjoy the experience? How large of a group traveled with you? Any feedback I would appreciate.

Thanks

• 2 weeks later...

Hi Rhonda,

We booked the pre-trip on August 20-23rd before our Viking Sea trip out of Venice on the 23rd. Would love to hear your feedback once you have completed the trip.

Especially curious what winery they are visiting as I work in the wine business. I guess I could always just ask Viking but would love any insights you have to offer. Have a great trip!!

Jeffrey from Rochester NY.

• 2 months later...

Our Villa is centrally located for day trips to Florence on Sun (1 1/2 hr) North and Siena/San Gimignano on Mon (1 1/2 hr) South

Tue ride to board the Sea in Venice is 2 1/2 to 3 1/2 hrs depending on route through Bologna.

Does appear to be busy except for free time in Florence after walking tour and before trip to Tuscan Winery. :)

We went on this excursion in March 2016, and the itinerary was almost the same as what Bob & Margie posted. There were only 4 people on our stay. We rode a mini-van and had a private driver and tour guide the whole time. We did not drive through Chianti or eat at a farmhouse the first day. Lunch and dinner the first day were both at the villa. Food was excellent. Three or four courses, with wine included.

There's not much free time: only the day you arrive and 2 or 3 hours in Florence where you can visit a museum or go shopping. Be ready for lots of walking on hilly cobblestone streets, with amazing sights and views.

Rhonda