Advice for first "real" camera.

SMNYCruise

I have been using my iPhone for photos. Looking to buy a SLR that is very easy to use, with a decent zoom lens (going to South Africa on a safari soon), and since I like to upload to social media, I need wi-fi. I know very little about cameras and I am not that tech savvy. Something light and not too expensive would be great. 🙂

Any recommendations?

You have a few layers of options that might work well - depending on how much you want to spend on lenses...

The cheapest option would be to go with a basic, entry-level DSLR, such as the Nikon D3300 or 3500 or Canon EOS Rebel T6i or SL2.  These are small DSLRs, basic and capable, work fine with just a kit lens or cheap consumer zoom, but allow room to expand up to better lenses (heavier and more expensive lenses too) if the bug really bites and you want to improve.  DSLRs are not the smallest or lightest options with large sensors anymore, but they are the cheapest overall.  DSLRs are similar in feel and operation to old film SLRs - you look through a glass viewfinder to focus and frame the shot, but don't see an electronic simulation of what the shot will look like until after you take it.  They have an optional mode called 'live view' that can let you use the LCD panel on the back to see the electronic shot, but often function much more slowly in these modes.