SD Cards

Poppy42

Don't know if this has been covered before.  I'm a retired professional photographer.  SD cards can fail resulting in the loss of your pictures.  There are programs that you can purchase that will help get most, but not all of your pics back.  Just because your SD card can hold thousands of pics, don't do it.  When I travel, I take at least one SD card per camera per day.  The worst case scenario is that I'll lose some pics. 

We've covered this a lot.  Most people either do as you suggest (I used to until I went XQD which are WAY more expensive (but also less failure prone) or carry some form of backup.

On vacation, I shoot raw to the XQD and jpg to the secondary SD and swap out the SDs daily, XQDs every couple of days.  That way I always have something.

• Like 1

3 hours ago, Poppy42 said:

Don't know if this has been covered before.  I'm a retired professional photographer.  SD cards can fail resulting in the loss of your pictures.  There are programs that you can purchase that will help get most, but not all of your pics back.  Just because your SD card can hold thousands of pics, don't do it.  When I travel, I take at least one SD card per camera per day.  The worst case scenario is that I'll lose some pics. 

Like loonbeam said, this has been covered a lot, but since it is an important factoid, it doesn't hurt to ping people and remind them once in a while. Though I have never had an SD card fail, I still back up at the end of every day (via UTG card reader to my Kindle Fire these days) and always take a backup set or six. 

A few minutes at the end of the day are nothing compared to paying for another cruise to capture lost images again and if they were once-in-a-lifetime shots, good luck getting Dr. Who's attention for a ride in the TARDIS back to re-take them.

Dave

I once thought that I had lost everything on a SD card but used EaseUS Data Recovery Wizard to recover everything.