Is Princess turning off their customer base?

63 Super Sport

We enjoy cruising on Princess. The company seems to be trying to focus on younger folks but they may be turning off their "core" customer. Younger folks are going to lines with techie stuff, zip lines, race tracks and water slides. Sometime we ask ourselves - "Why not focus on your customer base?"  We have been cruising Princess since 1985 when we were in our 30's and have been hooked on cruising since then. We go on cruises for the R&R and to get away from all the "techie" stuff. We are going on our "Ocean Medallion" cruise next week. We are prepared and know the "techie stuff" but hope that it does not take away the reason we cruise.

"Life is short, Break the Rules. Forgive quickly, Kiss SLOWLY. Love truly. Laugh uncontrollably And never regret ANYTHING That makes you smile."     

• Like 1

Interesting that you mention this. I do digital marketing strategy for a living and have noticed a shift in their marketing. It used to be mature couples in their advertising. Now, that still exists... but I’m seeing a lot more younger models and families with small kids. They are also spending a lot of money on social media influencers who are in their 20s and 30s. If you follow any of the Princess social accounts, you’ll see them post some of the influencer photos. I’ve worked with a few of their lifestyle bloggers/influencers and they aren’t cheap...

I do think they are trying to target a younger demographic. No idea why (and I doubt we ever will) but I’m sure there’s a reason behind it.

Andrew 🙂

Have to continue to attract younger folks if you want to lock then into your brand for any type of long term relationship..  No tactful way to say it, but then"older demographic"  is dying off, and younger people have more disposable income than they did a generation ago.  With so many choices, they have to keep up and attract a slice of the pie or they'll wither away concentrating only in an aging populace.