Online check in and silver box

the_dylaness

Although we sail in about a month, I just did my online check in as I had to renew my passport after our cruise last month and was awaiting the arrival of the new one.

I found the drop-down list of occupations intriguing and a little odd.

-First of all, so many things missing! My profession is here, but not my husband's (and it's not an uncommon one.)

-Doctor is on there as well as physician (yes, you can be a doctor of nearly anything, but I think people use the term in this case to refer to a physician usually, not anyone with a doctoral degree.)

-Housewife.  !?!?!  My inner women's-college-graduate is not sure if I should laugh or cry.  I am choosing to laugh.  Is this really 2018?

-Relator.  Now, if we are going to be inclusive, should we not also include "relatrix"?  Or perhaps you meant realtor, like a real estate agent.   "Relator /rɪˈleɪtər/, female relatrix /rɪˈleɪtrɪks/, (Latin for "narrator") is the legal term meaning a private person at whose relation or on whose behalf an application for a quo warranto or mandamus is filed. The relator appears as one beneficially interested, but the action is maintained on his behalf." --thanks Google.

-Businessman.  See "housewife".  Maybe they are married?

Please understand, I am not upset or angry about any of this.  More mystified and kind of painfully bemused?

Also wondering when I will get my Silver Box.  Is it dependent on having filled this out in entirety?  Other threads suggest it should have arrived by now.

882511375_ScreenShot2018-12-19at7_36_36PM.thumb.png.046243b02acdae7fefe305177b73adcb.png

Edited by the_dylaness
spelling error

My goodness, I haven't looked at that list for so long I'd forgotten how silly it is (been retired awhile).

Doesn't matter what your actual occupation is, just pick any or none, I don't think (but can't remember) that it would mark your details as incomplete.