Cruise Planning - Just Getting Started!

Sashamcg

I am just getting started on planning an cruise in Alaska for 2020.  I have been reading here and on TA and I am so overwhelmed so I am hoping I can ask some questions here to help narrow down some things to get me started on some real research.  Thanks in advance for the help!

My husband and I would be the two cruising.  We are 50 and 53.  Neither of us have been to Alaska before.  We have been on two cruises before, one on Holland American and one on the Oasis of the Seas.  Both cruises were trips I earned through my job so we really didn't have to pay anything but for our excursions.  Both times we had a balcony room.  Both cruises were in the Caribbean.  

My husband is very limited on vacation so we are looking to bump the cruise time up against a holiday.  Either Memorial Day or Labor Day.  Looks like Labor Day time would be more rainy?  So leaning towards Memorial Day.  We would also like to go when there are less kids so thinking both of these times would be better as kids are in school?  Since his vacation time is limited we are thinking to do just a 7 day cruise and we may be able to spend a couple of days doing something on land.

We live in Indianapolis so the flight options are not the best.