Copenhagen Disembark 4/29/19

Disembarking the Regal Princess at Oceankai on Monday morning 4/29. A workday. The issue is catching a train at Copenhagen Central at 8:20 am.

Have done this cruise before, disembarked, cleared customs/immigration, grabbed a taxi to the station and this all took no more than 40 minutes.

But those disembarks have always been on a Sunday with less traffic. Trains are few and far between due to work on the tracks between CPH and Hamburg, our destination.

The 8:20 train is the best option. I think it's doable. Mrs. Redrightreturning, not so much. I know it requires a perfect world, ship on time (arrv 5am), Danish customs open shop on time (7am). My big concern is traffic. Anyone with local experience........am I nuts?

Hi,

I have no experience with disembarking in Copenhagen, so I won't say anything about that. But I have a lot of experience with getting around in Copenhagen:

If you are lucky, it will take just over 15 minutes to drive. If you are (very) unlucky, it will take 30 minutes. Then add some time to pay and the time you need at the station. It's a good idea to buy something to eat and drink, as you can't buy this onboard the train (except for cold beverage vending machine - card only).

If, for some imaginary reason, taking a taxi all the way to Copenhagen Central Station is not an option - you could take a taxi to Nordhavn or Østerport station and take an S-train to Copenhagen Central Station from there.

Edited by I_am_a_Dane

6 hours ago, Danish viking said:

Have you seen that there is a direct bus to the Hamburg train that departs at 11:10 that arrives in Hamburg at 16:16.

This replacement bus goes to Rødby Færge from where you catch the regular train to Hamburg.

Thanks for your reply. Yes that is option B at this point.  The drawback is the SEV bus to Roedby is not reservable and I am afraid of not having seats. The train section of the trip however is reservable. 

18 hours ago, I_am_a_Dane said:

Hi,