Labadee Snorkeling?

DeepC

Have the kids with us on next trip which includes Labadee. They will be zip lining and coaster riding for the bulk of the day so there's no time for formal "excursion". I'm hearing the water can be cloudy in an undisclosed area. Then I read that Adventure Beach some is off limits and other parts soft and lots of current? I'm a boat captain and fisherman by trade and can "read water" better than most. Would appreciate hearing from people where I might start looking so I can save some time???? Thanks in advance.

I personally wouldn't waste time snorkeling on Labadee.  We have been twice, both snorkeled off of Columbus Cove the first time and husband snorkeled off of Adrenaline Beach the second time.  The water is very cloudy from the sandy bottom being stirred up and there is very little to see.  Off of Columbus Cove we saw a couple fish and 1-2 extremely small jelly fish.  Off of Adrenaline Beach my husband said he saw next to nothing aside from trash on the bottom.  He did manage to rescue 2 ship cards and 1 debit card, which he turned into ship security when we boarded.  Unless you are just looking for a way to pass the time there are probably more enjoyable things to do on Labadee.

46 minutes ago, momofmab said:

Agree with HangryGrl - we did a ship's excursion and all we saw was a rusty anchor.  Save snorkeling for another port.

Not looking for excursions... Just a time filler.... Kids will be on zip line and coaster for their main entertainment. GF and I don't drink... She just likes being in the water...

On our May 5th sailing the waters were a little murky  at times with the waves.

We only stayed at the shore line and waded in the water.

When we tried to snorkel off the beach, some areas were clear for looking at sand and minnows, some were very cloudy.

Not the best place to snorkel.

We opted for just being lazy and floating around on the mats.

Enjoy Labadee, 

Safe travels.

• 4 weeks later...