Celebrity Price Drop

Kalasi

I have booked to sail with Celebrity in a few weeks, and last week, in a moment of boredom, I looked up my cruise. 

Upon doing this I saw that the price of my cruise had dropped by £380 (£190 each). This annoyed me because when I booked on the Celebrity website at Christmas there was a lot of spiel about the price I booked being the "best" and "once a year offer". The cruise I booked comes with the Classic Drinks Package as it would do if I booked the cruise last week at the cheaper rate. Both cabins (the one I did book at Christmas and the one I could of booked last week) are Concierge Class. I.e. it's like for like. 

I've only been on one other cruise thus, I am new to all of this, so I (still in a moment of boredom) looked up what happens if one has booked a cruise for a "best price" which later comes down. I found that many cruise lines will either refund one in cash or give onboard credit. With this info, I emailed Celebrity telling them about my bitter discovery.

I had a nice email back that just said sorry and told me that I was lucky to get the cabin of my choosing.

I replied saying that my aft cabin on Deck 9 was hardly prime position and,  that I felt like if I have been sold a product under the title "best price" etc. then that is what it should be.

Another email comes back to me, saying that Celebrity do not offer price drop guarantees and that promotions change all the time. However, as a "gesture of good will" I may have a complementary meal in a speciality restaurant.

Dear more experienced cruisers, what do you think of this offer? Please do not berate me, but rather suggest if you think I'm being given a fair compensation or if I should be offered more. 

Thank you. 

You got more than most people.  After Final Payment theres always a lot of price volatilty.  They have to try to sell those unsold rooms.  Your best price guarantee only applied to the time you booked, not for future pricing.