U.S Pacific Coast vs Alaska Cruise

Strikes

Hi all! 

It's my first time posting here (so apologies if this is posted in the wrong area). I write plenty of Tripadvisor reviews, but I'm new to Cruise Critic.

I'd be really keen for some input regarding these two potential cruises. We'd be looking at travelling in Sept 2020 and are deciding between the Princess Cruises Wine Country Cruise versus an Alaska cruise with probably HAL or Celebrity. 

We are a couple (late 30's) taking our Mums (late 60's) and I'm overthinking it and confusing myself. I'd love to hear some first hand accounts if you've done either or both of these cruise types and have any love/hates or considerations. 

I've only done one cruise this year on the Royal Princess to Mexico which I really enjoyed. I didn't mind the large size of the ship. 

Anyway, any input is greatly appreciated. Thanks :) 

I've never done a California coastal cruise, but have done cruises to Alaska 4 times, and plan to do it again in the future. AK is simply beautiful, and even though I have done it 4 times already, the scenery is ever-changing.

IMO, Alaska is a not-to-be-missed experience.

All of my cruises (40+) have been with Princess, and I currently have 3 more booked. Princess is known within the cruising industry for doing Alaska VERY well. Since you enjoyed your previous cruise with Princess, you might want to consider doing AK with them as well.

• Like 1

Welcome to Cruise Critic!

We've done Alaska three times all on Princess (2 Vancouver to Whittier; 1 Seattle round trip) and 1 Wine Country Coastal also on Princess.  We loved them all but they are very different itineraries.

The ports are by far the most important thing on the Wine Country Coastal since you sail too far off the coast to see land.  On the other hand, the scenery to us is almost as important as the ports on an Alaska cruise (especially the one way itineraries).