Port Times

lovestx

I am trying to help my son and his fiance book their honeymoon on Viking with the Into the MidnightSun itinerary.  I am new to VO and can't seem to figure out how to find the specific times they are in each port.  Can someone educate/coach me?

Also would be interested in any firsthand experience with this cruise. The 'kids' know that the crowd will be much older than they (mid20s) but they are o.k. with this.  They are not big drinkers and are really interested in doing a cruise that would be unique.

Thanks in advance!

The port times are shown on the Guest Statement (page 3) that was emailed to your son.  We did this cruise in July 2018 and had a great time.  Norway is a beautiful country with lots to do and see.  They made a good choice with this itinerary.

The port times are not listed for Viking cruises on the website. In order to know this in advance, you would actually have to call Viking to book a 24 hold on a specific sailing and they will send you a quote which will have the port times. Many cruise lines do list the port times on their website, but Viking is not like most cruise lines ( and I mean that in a good way!).

Port times also will vary depending on the direction you are doing, i.e. London to Bergen or Bergen to London.  In addition. Viking has tweaked this particular cruise over the years it has been doing it.  Those changes seem to be based on experience and possibly feedback from cruisers.

We did it going London (Greenwich Pier) to Bergen on July 1, 2017.  I will see if I can find my invoice which had the port times but I know it is not now identical to what we did.  On ours, they even did a change in days we were doing the Shetlands and Orkney Islands after we booked.  Not a big issue and seemingly to keep two ships being in port the same day.