NCL refuses me to board, question about refund in similar situation

phire

Hello, 

I booked Norwegian Escape Caribbean cruise for Feb 15th, 2020. I am a permanent resident Canada holding a Chinese passport, and I have not been back to China for many years. Sadly, after counting down from 130 days to 8 days left, I received the message that anyone holding a Chinese, HK, or Macau passport cannot board the ship. I also called NCL, and they confirmed that in my situation I still will be denied. My husband who is going to celebrate his 30th birthday, and my 17months old son will not go without me, and they both hold Canadian passports.

We booked an 8 day vacation, 7 days supposed to be on the cruise. The customer service representatives are almost sure that I will get full refund on cruise fare for the family, but they are not positive about our flights from Hamilton, ON to FLL, and the one night hotel on the 14th....One of them told me he handled a previous case that customer travelling from China requesting refund, and this customer was given $300 in addition to the cruise fare. The airlines that travel to and from China all offer free cancellation and delay, but I fly from Canada!

They said I have to submit refund requests to the guest relations web form, and there is no phone number for that department. When I actually did that it told me I need to allow 4 to 6 weeks to hear back. 

I am in a stranded position, I purchased through line of credit, and now being denied solely by discrimination on my Chinese passport, and part of the trip might not get refunded =( 

Does anyone have similar experience??? I read the news that several ships are quarantined in Asia, is there anyone here not able to board the cruise because people on there cannot disembark? Are you guys offered refund on flights and hotel?