Manhattan Cruise Terminal, Penn Station, and NCL Disembark

kesrya

Not sure whether to post this here or in NCL forum, but here goes ...

We've decided to take the Amtrak from Baltimore to NY Penn Station because it saves a bunch of time, hassle, and money as opposed to driving up and parking.  I've never done Amtrak before nor have I done a NCL cruise, so I'm having trouble understanding what the timing for disembark will be and how early we need to arrive at the train station (is it like airports where we need to get there 2 hours before departure and clear security?). Please help me determine the best homeward bound train ticket departure time given these factors: 

* Our cruise is scheduled to dock at 7am on a Sunday in early September.

* We will have suitcases that we need to check at Penn Station

* We have two kids, so instead of trying to be the first ones off the ship and stand in a long departure line, I was leaning towards taking the last disembark group and just chilling on board. I've heard the line gets shorter at the end???

* We'll take a cab from the pier to Penn Station

* We have nowhere to be, so it doesn't matter to us what time we leave or get home to Baltimore. We are interested in ease of travel - so avoiding lines if possible, and not having to lug our suitcases around NYC for hours after the cruise terminal closes.

* While I've never actually taken Amtrak, I have been in NY Penn Station often many years ago when I lived in Northern Jersey and had a friend that worked near the station ... but I'm sure things have changed in terms of train boarding protocols and procedures since then.

The potential train departure times would be: 12:05, 12:55, 1:17, 2:05, or 3:04pm.