Long time before cruising resumes

drkitkat123

I am a physician and the longer all this goes on, the more pessimistic I become about cruising. Personally, I can not see any cruising resuming for more than 18 months. Even if particular countries get COVID under control, there is little chance they will allow cruises between countries.

• Like 2

44 minutes ago, drkitkat123 said:

I am a physician and the longer all this goes on, the more pessimistic I become about cruising. Personally, I can not see any cruising resuming for more than 18 months. Even if particular countries get COVID under control, there is little chance they will allow cruises between countries.

In a worst case scenario, you may be right. 

IMO, the critical elements for industry "restart" will be 

1. The effectiveness of the geographic lockdowns both internal (e.g., California, which still needs to toughen its requirements/enforcement) and external (border closures everywhere, minimally by states/provinces and countries) - not because of politics but rather because of differences in varying governments' ability to follow through on regulation. It is the geographic lockdown that will do the most to slow transmission and flatten it's "curve" (and, of course, that "serious" lockdown will have to last at least through this summer). Of course, there can be no cruising during this time and it's duration will be directly proportional to the severity of its inclusions and enforecement.

2. With all the obvious and necessary caveats, a quick route to an effective vaccine is imperative. As I write this, I'm reminded of all the zombie movies that begin with a virus vaccine that has "a few screws missing." But, seriously, vaccine is the key and just how much can be fast tracked in clinical development/trials is the biggest unknown right now.