I see that Cuba is now in Polynesia???

PrincessPete

I saw the advert in today's Daily Mail for Fred's new Caribbean program in January 2022 (from a well-known TA with three letters in their name)  and see that the cruise visits six Polynesian islands!

Err, Cuba, Jamaica, St Kitts etc??

It was obviously cut and pasted wrongly from an advert for the real Polynesia - but does no-one proof read them??!!

Moving on to a serious question, the prices do seem really high to me, for example £3899 as the lead in price for a balcony for what is essentially a two week Caribbean cruise, albeit with the added interest of staying in Cuba -onboard the ship, no hotel stays included.

(Not all inclusive so no drinks included, just gratuities and a miserly amount of OBC).

Looking at alternatives to CMV  I am studying Fred's itineraries although, as I put in another thread, the allowing of smoking on  balconies is a deal breaker at the moment.

Were that to change I still feel that these prices are considerably in excess of Princess or P&O's Caribbean prices.

I would be very interested if any Fred regulars have any comments on the prices and whether they have shot up due to the current situation and the number of people with future cruise credits etc.

Kind regards. Peter

Balcony prices are always particularly high on Fred because their ships only have a few. However, their prices in general have seemed very high to me in recent, pre-virus, times. I think they are pricing themselves nearer to the level of Oceania and Azamara, who also sail older, smaller ships.

I have sailed both Princess and P & O as well as Cunard and Fred Olsen, depending on itinerary, my favourites are Fred and Cunard with Fred a slight lead. The smaller ships do make for more interesting trips and usually visit much closer into the various venues. Agreed the price difference between Fred and CMV is a little higher, but smaller ships usually command higher prices unfortunately.