Mississippi River Cruise 2023 - Newbie

flashman69

VIking are advertising for these new cruises starting in 2023. Long way out of course and it’s a new “ship” and maybe bigger than usual but as a complete newbie to river cruising was wondering if any general comments about best cabins to choose on these VIking ships. I ask now as have a good discount if book by end  of month at present 

VIking are advertising for these new cruises starting in 2023. Long way out of course and it’s a new “ship” and maybe bigger than usual but as a complete newbie to river cruising was wondering if any general comments about best cabins to choose on these VIking ships. I ask now as have a good discount if book by end  of month at present 

If you do plan on booking this far in advance, make sure you confirm what the final payment date will be.

Sent from my iPhone using Forums
  • Like 1

45 minutes ago, flashman69 said:

States 4 months before travel. Its only $500 ea for deposit

I've very surprised by that, because in Europe Viking requires payment 1-2 yrs. in advance.

Just now, Roz said:

I've very surprised by that, because in Europe Viking requires payment 1-2 yrs. in advance.

Has less to do with where the cruise is and more to do with where you live.  Flashman69 is booking in Australia and the rules are different; same for NZ and UK. Paying in full so far in advance does not fly in those market but at the same time, as I understand it, the deposit is not refundable.

Where he booking in the US/Canada market he would be plunking down his payment in full closer to booking than to actually sailing.

50 minutes ago, flashman69 said:

States 4 months before travel. Its only $500 ea for deposit