No upgrades available

snoodqueen

I just called Princess and asked about getting an upgrade - paid or complimentary - for the Grand on Oct. 14.  I know bookings online are closed but no harm in asking, right?  I was told that I could ask at checkin or Guest Services onboard if there were any cancellations.  I explained that there were only 3 cabins booked around me and the ship was definitely not sailing full so it wasn't about someone cancelling or something suddenly opening up.  I usually get pretty good people when I call Princess but this one just kept repeating over and over about cancellations.  Do they even look at the ship availability before saying no?  Disappointed in the response but I'm getting what I paid for so not worried, though an upgrade in an empty ship would have been a nice treat.

I have no personal knowledge but suspect it's too close to sailing to make changes now.  They probably have to submit a Pax manifest to regulating authorities. 

I would definitely think you could ask at check-in or at the Customer Relations desk once on broad!

Please let us know what you ultimately experience!

• Like 1

16 minutes ago, MishelleMcc said:

I have no personal knowledge but suspect it's too close to sailing to make changes now.  They probably have to submit a Pax manifest to regulating authorities. 

I would definitely think you could ask at check-in or at the Customer Relations desk once on broad!

Please let us know what you ultimately experience!

Passenger manifest goes in 60 minutes before sailing.  That’s why you have to be checked in by then.  EM

• Thanks 1

1 hour ago, Ombud said:

I didn't even know that someone could verbally request an upgrade. How long has this been possible?