Additional tipping

Lendebw

For those that chose to tip more:

sailing on Royal’s Symphony OTS in Sky Class Suite.  Looking for a range of tips for Concierge, wait staff in Coastal Kitchen and Suite attendant.   Have heard of people tipping at each meal.  Tipping concierge at end. Tipping attendant at start of cruise.  What are your thoughts and experience 

#1:  Welcome to Cruise Critic fellow Ohioan!  

#2:  The advice you will receive about tipping will be as varied as those who offer such.

#3:  I have no experience on your ship or with your accommodations.

#4:  I have experience as a Yacht Club guest on MSC Meraviglia.  Possibly, an equivalent type of accommodation. 

#5:  Additional gratuities that I offered were as follows:

My Butler

My Assistant Butler (who did the most work as the Cabin Stewardess in taking 

care of my suite)

Both Maitre d's in the YC Restaurant 

#6:  No additional gratuities were offered to the YC Restaurant staff or the YC Top   

Lounge staff.  No assigned dining produced no specific Stewards on a regular 

basis in either venue. 

#7:  Concierge?  Never considered giving them a tip.  They did, for me, what a YC  

Concierge is expected to do.  I asked nor expected anything more than what

these gentlemen provided.  

As far as "tipping at each meal", my opinion, the only time that I have done so is when I dine in a ship's specialty restaurant and the service/experience is so superior that I feel I ought to do so.  And, that does not often happen.

Watch your shipmates that leave their dining table.  Will you see much cash left on the table?  The times that I have seen such behavior has become extinct during my most recent cruises.  

• 6 months later...

I don't cruise on Royal Caribbean, but here are my tipping habits: