Potty trained on cruise vs diapers...

CruznIsBest

Hello,

DH, DD, and I are booked on a cruise in December. DD will be 2 yrs 4 months old by then. She is not yet potty trained, and I'm wondering if we should strive to have her trained by our cruise. Would that make things easier or harder? In thinking about logistics, if she is NOT potty trained, we won't have to worry about finding her a *clean* potty to use while on shore....she can just go in her diaper and we'll clean up as usual. I'm a germ phobe and the thought of her using public restrooms grosses me out (I don't like using them myself) and the thought of her going to some of the public restrooms on the islands we will be visiting is even more disturbing. Yucky!!! This is our one and only child, so I have no experience whatsoever with potty training and what it's like to have a toddler on vacation.

Thanks!

We took our 2 year old on a cruise in March, several months after he was potty trained. To me the advantages of not having smelly diapers in the room and not having to pack all of those diapers outweighed the inconvienence of trying to find public restrooms on short notice. I did notice that shopkeepers were much more helpfull pointing out a nearby restroom when you walk up to them with a toddler than on the times I have made the same inquiry without the toddler. We did the potty training without using pull-ups except at night (we refer to them as "nighttime underwear"), but you might want to consider putting her in some for excursions where finding a restroom might be more difficult.

What cruise line are you on? If it's Carnival, they do not have to be potty trained to use Camp Carnival (the kid's program). You can leave diapers and wipes with them and they will change her for you.

If you want to be able to take her in the pool on the ship, most cruise lines will not allow non-potty trained toddlers in the pool even in swim diapers.