Best Ship for Alaska?

BethV114

Hello. I'm new to the Princess boards. I have an Alaskan cruise booked on Royal Caribbean for May 2008, but after searching the internet, it looks like Princess has better options for post-cruise landtours. I am undecided whether to stick with my Royal Caribbean reservation and add on a Princess land tour afterwards, or just switch over to Princess entirely. Any thoughts you can offer would be greatly appreciated.

I am specifically wondering which ships you think are best for the Alasakan itinerary (including which have the best indoor activities, such as an indoor pool, for those chilly days at sea). Also, I have read that some decks have balconies which aren't covered, so I was wondering which of those to avoid. I'm thinking of booking a suite, but would like a covered balcony in the case of rain. Thanks so much for your help! :D

I would suggest you switch the entire trip to Princess. Actually I'm not sure you could book the land portion only?

If you want the best and most options on board, such as indoor pools, then go with the Grand Class ships, Diamond/Sapphire.

A complete covered balcony would be the Aloha deck but they are pretty small. The large ones on the Caribe are half open half covered. We have had both.

Since the 08 schedule isn't out yet I don't have specific "what I would do" info. Wait until it's out, check the itinerary's and find what you like best, then start thinking ship.

Good luck.

Thanks for the info. I did a little more searching online and it looks as though they will be offering their usual itineraries to Alaska next year on the following ships: Diamond, Sapphire, Coral and Island. In addition, there will be 8 sailings of an extended itinerary onboard the Tahitian. From what I've learned, I'm leaning more towards Coral/Island due to the covered/all-weather pools. Does anyone have any thoughts/tips on those ships?