Concierge club/lounge - what is it?

I posted this on another thread, but later thought that I might get more responses if I start it as a new thread - so here goes.

I am new to RCI, and my family are booked in an OS for our cruise on the Mariner next summer. I understand that because we booked an OS we will have use of the concierge lounge.

Can some of you please explain what amenities are available through the concierge lounge and why it is such a good perk to have? Do the services available through the concierge differ depending on why you have access to is? Meaning does a platinum member have more/less perks available to them through the concierge than someone on their 1st RCI cruise that is in an OS cabin? I just want to make sure I understand the whole concierge role and what services they will offer.

Thanks for your help!