What is there for a middle age alcoholic to do in Nassau?????

I8MADCOW

I'll be in Nassau in 6 May 2011 and was looking for some advice on what to do. Atlantis sounds fun and the Straw Market might be good for a quick walk through. The Hilton is close and would be a nice way to enjoy the beach. But has anyone ever just gone into town and explored? Was it fun? Is it worth doing? Any neat architecture? Should I rent a car (my wife will drive by the way) or just get in a taxi? Is there a district of local shops and restaurants? I've tried Googling things to do but all I get is page after page of typical tourist activates. The beach is great but I like to be in a crowd, look at old buildings, hang out in local taverns and just experience the culture. I'm new to all this so I'm not sure of the etiquette. Please be gentle in your reply.

We were in Nassau in November (and will be there at the end of the month again). We just walked around town and did the Frommer's self-guided walking tour. A local gave us a little narrative for a tip at the Queen's Staircase, one of the stops on the tour. On the way back to the boat we stopped at a sidewalk bar and had a daquiri. This month I think we will go to the Ardastra zoo, which we did not get to last time.

We enjoyed walking around the town- we walked to and went to the Pirate Museum ($12) and then walked to Ardastra gardens ($15)- it was a nice zoo for a small island. They have mostly birds and reptiles, as you would expect, but they have a few mammals (jaguars were the highlight). I was happy they didn't have too many, as I imagine the care standards are low... the sign near the jaguars said in general anytime a foreign species is found on the island they go to the zoo- so that's probably how they (and the ocelot) got there. We had TONS of fun feeding the Lorries (you fed them apples instead of little things of nectar, so it was better than most USA zoos). There is also a cheap snack bar there.