could I request a fridge in my cabin for insuline?

Capitan Morgan

I will be going in the Ecstasy August 26. My stateroom has balcony but no fridge in the room. I will be needing a little fridge to keep the insuline for my sister that she is diabetic. How I must go about it? Should I request it with my PVP or the steward or go to medical center?

I will be going in the Ecstasy August 26. My stateroom has balcony but no fridge in the room. I will be needing a little fridge to keep the insuline for my sister that she is diabetic. How I must go about it? Should I request it with my PVP or the steward or go to medical center?

This is often misunderstood as related to insulin storage:

Insulin is fine to be kept at room temperature and does NOT need to be refrigerated unless the vial is opened more than 30 days.

In years past, that was not always the case and it was kept refrigerated. (I have been a nurse a long time! :o )

true, but from what i read on the boards, those fridges do not keep things cold wnough and i believe keeping insulin really cold is very important so it doesnt spoil. How about taking a small cooler in which the steward can keep ice in it?

Insulin is fine to be kept at room temperature and does NOT need to be refrigerated unless the vial is opened more than 30 days.

In years past, that was not always the case and it was kept refrigerated. (I have been a nurse a long time! :o )

My sister doesn't live in the USA and as far as I know she says that she keep her insuline in the fridge, so I have to go with that info

I don't think that the Ectasy cabins have refrigerators and I doubt that moving one in will be an option (there's just no room!). I might suggest contacting the Special Needs department. I'm sure they've dealt with this before and can recommend a solution.

Happy Cruising!

I don't recall the name, but there's one that does require refrigeration. It might be Lantus? Other than that one, it's true about room temperature once open.