Help Picking Tour Operator - Sting Ray City

VA_gal

I've briefly checked out the recommendations and looked at their web sites. I've narrowed it down to these choices. I hope you can comment on your experiences - the pros and cons. It's my first cruise to top the cake. I'm completely out of my element here.

Soto's Cruise

Moby Dick

Don Foster's

Bucaneer

I haven't seen anything negative on these operators. The biggest thing for me is not being cramped on a boat. We're heading down in early June. I know it's going to be vacation time for folks and I can take that into consideration.

Also, since I'm new to cruising. The boat is to arrive at 8:00 a.m. and we have to take a tender over. Could you give an estimate time when we'd be on the island? I know it's not an exact time and schedules can change. Any helpful tips on getting on one of the first tenders?

Should we definitely hit 7 mile beach after our tour? What time should I head back to catch the tender back to the boat?

TIA!

One thing you should be aware of is that Stingray City is a different tour than Stingray Sandbar. Stingray sandbar is an offshore sandbar where you can stand in waist/chest deep water and interact with lots of rays. Stingray city is nearby in an area of water about 12 feet deep so you swim/dive with the rays. Some people prefer one or the other.

Check with your tour operator regarding your port/tender times in the morning. I would allow 45 minutes before last tender for the return time since the line for tenders can be quite long. 7 Mile Beach isn't too far (depending on where you go of course), even the far end shouldn't take more than 10 minutes or so by cab. So, if you leave the beach an hour before last tender you should be fine. You might want to check out how many ships will be in port your day.