Artemis Jan 2006 - Malaria Tablets Needed?

tommygirl1983

hi everyone,

i'm booked on the artemis cruise from southampton to singapore in jan 2006 and wondered if anyone had been on a far/middle east cruise and taken malaria tablets?

there are apparently minimal risks in vietnam, malasia and thailand etc but my doctor is unsure whether the risk is sufficient enough to commit so much to taking these pills?

Thanx v much for any guidance!!

I'm new to all this cruise business ;-)

tommygirl1983 x

We've been to SE Asia several times, and according to US CDC, anti-malaria medication was not needed. Requirements do change, we always check with our local health department before going "exotic".

We did take anti-malaria (among other things) for the Amazon when we cruised there in '91.

Enjoy Artemis, she was one of our favorities when she was Royal Princess; we sailed four times (56 days total) on her.

That is interesting info re Mumbai (Bombay). We are scheduled to be there 12-14-06, on Oceania's Nautica (Istanbul to Singapore via the Suez).

When we checked last month, there were no health advisories. Of course, we will check again closer to our departure. We try to keep up-to-date on health advisories, as I have some respiratory/pulmonary issues.

Hi,

We are also on the cruise. As well as the one before. We are not going into a Malaria zone. I posted on the PO roll call but no one replied. You seem to be the first. Are you American? I am an American and my girlfriend is an Australian. Looking foward to departure in about 100 days.

Jeffrey

Thankyou for all your responses!

Guess i'll have to check again with my doctor as we are stopping off at Mumbai - didn't seem to know much when i last enquired tho :-(

Is there any other organisations / people who i could contact to clarify? Or a site to find out about the most up to date health advice?