cabin info

winny63

Hi

Im new to celebrity cruising and would like to know if anyone knows the meaningof cat 8

does this mean its a bottom of the boat steerage type room? and does that mean we will feel inferior?

from what i have been reading mostly is that it is.

not that we will spend much time there just dont want to think we paid what we did and got less ..

also can anyone tell me what the difference of star princess vs galaxy

we had a wonderful time on star but we did have a wonderful cabin.

does it make a difference of the cabin type to the service you get?

I know all this sounds petty but we dont want to be disapointed after sailing on the star.

thanks for any information you can give me

Diane

Winny63- My wife and I were just on the Thanksgiving voyage of the Star and will be taking the Galaxy out of Jan Juan this March. We liked the star but was not overlly impressed. Our cabin was wonderful, we had a large balcony on the Caribe deck. As to the differences it is all relative...except for the age of the vessel. Galaxy is about 10 yrs old and the Star is about 4 yrs old. However, since we are around 30 yrs old and active we go for the ports. The carib. itinerary of the Galaxy can not be beat, that is my opinion of course.

My wife and I are learning that we prefer the small ships 80000 tonnes to the larger ones like Star 100000+ tonnes.

Which Galaxy cruise are you taking? Med of Carib?

On our upcoming cruise, the cost difference between a cat 8 and cat 4 is only $40 bucks per person. The only difference that I know of is that their is a little sitting area next to the window and the cabin is in a little better location. The service will be the same in this categories.

Hope this helps,

Roger

This is a link to Celebrity's website which shows deck plans and describes the category of cabins on each deck. You can see each deck (from the list at the top.)