Customs in Bar Harbor

hylasgirl

Can someone tell me how long it will take to clear customs in Bar Harbor? Our hours say that we will be there from 7am to 6pm and I wanted to book us a car for the day, I am just unsure how long it will take us to get off the ship. Is there an expert here that has done this and might know?

Thanks so much!

• 1 month later...
Is there no one that has cruised New England and knows about clearing customs in Bar Harbor because the last port was Canada? This New England board is sad:(

Sorry can't help you I've never cruised New England since I am a resident.. I drive between here and Canada and have the usual border crossing scenario. I happen to be on my vacation in Chicago and am checking in. I didn't want to leave your post unanswered but when I cruise from different islands/countries in the Caribbean from the US, we never have to clear customs in each location. Same for one I've been to in Europe. I would imagine it would be no different for a Canadian/US cruise. I could be wrong but every other place I've gone it hasn't happened. I don't know your itinerary. What is your last port where you disembark? Is it NY or Boston? If so, I think that is where you have to clear. I really don't know though. I bet that a customer service rep at your cruise line could give you a good answer. I'd be curious myself. Have fun! :)

See... that's the issue... I guess we are going to have to clear customs in Bar Harbor because it will be our first port after Canada... instead of back at Cape Liberty. The only reason that I wonder is that it is a tender stop... so, I wonder what a PITA it will be, you know?? :)

Hylasgirl,

You're very smart to ask this question because I never realized this was going to happen! I can't speak for Bar Harbor, but if our RCI Grandeur experience in Boston (our first stop after Canada) is illustrative, then the following will happen: