Carribbean Princess - Rumors and Legends - 10/9

Dave in Atlanta

Rumors and legends about the Caribbean Princess – The 10/9 cruise experience

We’ve all read the many helpful, but often conflicting, reviews of the new Caribbean Princess on these boards. Now that I’m a veteran, I thought I’d toss my two cents worth in with a slightly different format.

My next assignment is to write a review comparing the 10/9 CP sailing with the 10/2003 Radiance of the Seas Panama Canal cruise, but that’s a bigger task for another day.

Rumors and legends I found to be true:

You really can clearly see the Movies Under The Stars screen during the daytime – Hard to imagine, but it is quite clear. At night it is even better.

The “Love Boat Dream” dessert is awesome – especially (or maybe only) if you love chocolate.

Lots of people like PC dining – So much so that our traditional dining room (Island) was never more than about 75% full.

It’s sure hard to find your way around – Yup. Since our cabin was D709, we typically used the aft or midship stairs or elevators. But it was a 50/50 proposition as to where those aft stairs would take you. If you wanted the Palm Dining Room, a good choice, but other areas were inaccessible.

The photographers are everywhere – I’ve never had my picture taken so many times. They actually ran out of places to display them all toward the end of the week. In another review, someone pronounced the 8x10 for just $14.99 to be a real bargain. I agree, since I was charged $19.99.

The Balcony Dinner is a special event – It was the highlight of our cruise. The food was magnificent, the service outstanding, even the price (for all you get) seemed fair, and I’m cheap. A word of advice: If you order the Filet you get a huge one. If you order the lobster, it’s very large. If you order Surf and Turf, you get both of them! Whew.