private guides in northern europe capitals

Emma1

Am looking to do private tours and have heard about Red October and Denrus ( spelling?) in StPetersburg. I have never done this before - any feedback on companies anyone has used. HAs anyone ever gotten back to the ship late and it left? There would be 5 of us ( 3 kids 11,13,14). Seems it would be a time saver with the kids and we would be able to see more versus standing on constant lines - for a price of course.

We toured with Denrus this past Sept 3-4 and I can highly recommend them !

We did the Value tour. It was 2 full days of touring. There were 16 of us on a small bus. Lunch was included each day. We saw the Hermitage, Peterhof, Peter and Paul fortress, St Issacs ( not to be missed ! Equally impressive as St Peters in Rome ), rode the subway, took canal tour, saw where Rasputin was killed, stopped twice for souvenirs ( not alot of time...things were very expensive !! ).

Denrus communicated frequently and answered all my questions. Nothing was left to my imagination. They take care of your visa and they are responsible for you. You can't "wander off". They allow for traffic in the afternoon when taking you back to the ship. They have never been late. There is no worry there.

My only disappointment was not seeing Catherine's Palace. But I heard it was "run down..not kept up" and that Peterhof was much better. We loved Peterhof !! The palace is unbelievable and the fountains and gardens so photogenic !!!

We were on the Jewel of the Seas. We'll sail with DCL to the Med '10.

Hope this helps. I can't report on Red October,sorry.

My only disappointment was not seeing Catherine's Palace. But I heard it was "run down..not kept up" and that Peterhof was much better. We loved Peterhof !! The palace is unbelievable and the fountains and gardens so photogenic !!!

We went to Catherine's Palace in July and the outside is in the middle of a rehab. YOu could really tell the difference where they had done work.