Will Blackberry work?

kadams718

Will my blackberry work to check e-mails on the Victory? Is there an additional fee? Sailing from SC to the Bahamas.

it will work. but you have to contact your carrier to turn on international roaming. if i'm not mistaken, roaming costs 2.50 per minute, and data downloads cost 0.195 per KB!!! (with att) that can really add up if you get a lot of junk email, etc.

you can turn off international data roaming from your bb if you wanted to just use phone.

it will work. but you have to contact your carrier to turn on international roaming. if i'm not mistaken, roaming costs 2.50 per minute, and data downloads cost 0.195 per KB!!! (with att) that can really add up if you get a lot of junk email, etc.

you can turn off international data roaming from your bb if you wanted to just use phone.

Do you know how to do this? Also, do you know how to turn off phone and data and still use the device for games and such? I'm new to BB, thanks!

Do you know how to do this? Also, do you know how to turn off phone and data and still use the device for games and such? I'm new to BB, thanks!

on my bb curve 8310, it's like this:

to turn off ALL connections (to just play games, etc.)

manage connections->turn all connections off

use this if you want to turn off phone and data in one swoop

to turn off data connections (but still use phone)

manage connections->mobile network options->data services - change to 'off when roaming'

it'll probably be the same for other curves, and very similar for other models

and fyi, txt messages are 0.50 each to send, free to receive (though roaming charges still apply).

i'm not looking forward to getting my recent bill.

you'll notice that you're off your provider's network and on the ship's network when the 'AT&T' (or other provider) on the home screen under the date changes to something funny... on destiny it was something like 9240-6 or something else like that.

Ahhhhh, thats all sounding very familair! :)