Appropriate Ports of Call

mom2two2

Hello everyone...

I am a newbie here, I came across the board while trying to research cruise info. We have decided on RCCL and are thinking late Feb 2010 to take a trip. What I need help with is how to select an itinerary.

We will be 2 adults (mid 30s) and 2 children (10 and 7 at time of sailing). We were thinking to sail from FL but I am not sure it would be the best trip considering things I am hearing on the boards about some of the islands and the fact that we will be travelling with kids. I am not liking the idea of Labadee and the whole armed guards etc.

I am starting to think we should sail from San Juan instead. We were hesitating with this only because the flight cost would be so much higher. (We are flying from Detroit Metro)

Which islands are the best for a family with kids? We are interested in some beach days but want to plan some fun excursions as well. We do not really plan to do much shopping while in ports but I am sure I will want to duck in a few places.. ;)

Can anyone help?

Thank you so much

mom2two2

I have taken my kids on RCCL, NCL (2) and Costa (avoid Costa, terrible kids program, more like a one room daycare). Similar age range as yours and they had a great time on NCL and RCCL. Although you may be better off with NCL because of kids and "Freestyle" dinning just works better. But...that wasn't your question so....

Southern Cruises are very port intensive but may be a bit much with kids. My kids enjoyed the ship as much as the ports. With the exception of Grenada and Martinique (which were more of a depressed economy and we felt there was less to see and do there) our kids loved the snorkling and good snorkling was abundant on all islands. Use the Cruiseline tours if your concerned but the local tours that are mentioned on these boards tend to be very good too. We felt safe on all the islands. Labadee should be fine and might be your cheapest stop. San Juan seemed more rough than the port stops.