Gem - wireless in cabin? AF Mini.

SuiteCruiser

Hi folks,

This is my first time in an AF, and the first time on the Gem. On the Dawn, in an AB we had wired internet access in the cabin. If I bring my laptop and pay for service on the Gem, will we be able to connect in the cabin, or will we have to go to a hotspot on the ship somewhere?

I'm travelling with someone who wants to use skype so her son can have a video call with his dad who is staying at home, and it might not be ideal if they have to do it in the atrium!

Sorry if it's been asked before, the search function isn't working for me today.

Thanks for your help!

Hi folks,

This is my first time in an AF, and the first time on the Gem. On the Dawn, in an AB we had wired internet access in the cabin. If I bring my laptop and pay for service on the Gem, will we be able to connect in the cabin, or will we have to go to a hotspot on the ship somewhere?

I'm travelling with someone who wants to use skype so her son can have a video call with his dad who is staying at home, and it might not be ideal if they have to do it in the atrium!

Sorry if it's been asked before, the search function isn't working for me today.

Thanks for your help!

We were on the Pearl in an AF , no wireless in the cabin but it did have an ethernet outlet ( make sure you bring an ethernet cord)

Depends where the AF is located. If you are near one of the ABs you will have WiFi. You will have an Ethernet jack at a minimum.

Now about Skype. The last I heard it is blocked onboard since it is a bandwidth hog for the limited uplink.

OR you can stand in front of the ship cam on deck while you are on your lap-top :D

Funny stuff!

Thanks everyone for your replies. I think we won't count on it, interesting about Skype specifically. Really appreciate it.