Do I have to worry about sharks in the water?

I wouldn't want to say don't worry about it and then you come back minus one of the kids but I don't worry about it.

The only time I ever saw a shark, I didnt, but I heard about it and saw everyone running out of the water. But that was pre-cruise at South Beach in Miami.

I have been snorkeling and swimming in the caribbean for over 20 years. In that time I have seen exactly ONE shark. It looked at me, realized I was not a fish (which is what sharks eat) and took off.

We just got done scuba diving on our cruise. Yes there are sharks, but...they tend to hang out at the bottom of the reefs 40-60 ft down where scuba divers are not with snorkelers. (we saw three and have the pictures to prove it).They are not really interested in people - there are too many fish around! We swam close to them and they swam away. Now, some of the parrotfish weren't excited about us interrupting their meal on the coral, but they still swam away when we got close.

My husband did a dive trip in the Bahamas and said there were lots there- in the Exuma and Elethura islands areas. Again they were diving not snorkeling.

• 2 weeks later...

Hey "Are we there yet", you are a mother after my own heart. My husband has been laughing at me because I am so freaked at the thought of my 6 and 9 yr olds being out there with fish that can seriously hurt them... or worse.

I think it's our job to worry about this stuff. If not us... it certainly wouldn't be the macho dad's. I wish I could say my mind is at ease, it's not, but I will still take them snorkeling and PRAY! Then I will just breath a sigh of relief and let my husband say "I told you so" when were at dinner later that night.

It's an experience that I just can't let them not have.

Becky