Questions about the Independence of the Seas

Hi, I'm a newbie to CC & an now an addict :D We're going on the IOTS for the first time next month. and although I've been reading the boards for 2 days I still have a few questions I can't find the answers to, so hoping someone will help.

1. Unloading luggage at Southampton. Do we tip?

2. I read in a thread here that iced tea and lemonade is free. Is this in machines only in the WJ or available throughout the ship? Can I ask for lemonade with my meal in the main dining room rather than water?

3. Looks like breakfast and lunch in the MDR might be quieter but can we ask to sit alone? I just can't be that sociable early in the morning :cool:

Many thanks in advance for any advice given. Can't wait to get aboard :)

1... Yes, only if a porter helps you. Otherwise, just take your bags off the carousel and go.

2....Not sure, I know you can get iced tea in the MDR if you ask.

3...Yes you can, we always have! Might mean you have to wait a few minutes, but it's always doable.

We did the last transatlantic on the Indy.... it was wonderful..... you'll love it.... she's an awesome ship!!

Compared to the American Ports Southampton is an absolute dream. When you get dropped off (or you arrive to unload your car) you are not bombarded by threatening touts demanding money to get your luggage on board to the point where people "gave a good tip to make sure the bags got on board".

We wheeled our cases approximately 15 feet to a chap who loaded them into a train of cages for us without expecting any money. Security was thorough and prompt with enough staff and scanning machines to ensure we weren't queuing an hour or more as per Port Liberty in New York with 2-3 machines per 4,000 odd guests!!

Reclamation of luggage is simply a case (pardon the pun), of collecting them from a well staffed warehouse area where I have a feeling there are free trolleys available.