Watch your bag in Grand Turk

shipty2

I know this could happen anywhere but since this incident seemed to be well rehearsed maybe by having a heads up someone else could avoid being a victim.

We were on the Destiny 12/27 cruise that stopped in Grand Turk. We have been to Grand Turk 5 times prior to this stop and have found the beach area to be quite safe.

While walking along the beach looking for an available chair DH came upon a 2 ft length of black rubber. So he picks it up. Being a health care professional I was a little disgusted and told him to leave it on the beach as it could have been used by a drug user to tie off their arm. Of course he did not put it down and off we went. There were no chairs so we rented a clamshell with a floaty mat and put our bag inside the clam on the mat so we would not have sand on our towels when the time came to use them.

Fast forward a couple hours and we were swimming out by the buoys looking at fish. I am always checking the spot where we leave our bags. So I look over and there was one person (teenager)pawing at things in our clamshell and two others standing in front of him blocking my view.

So I shout "hey someone's in our clamshell". DH immediately swam back to shore but by the time he got there they had quickly dispersed. In fact they left so quick it made me dizzy because all three went in different directions. I was watching them but their clever deking caused me to lose track of all of them.

Luckily DH had used that black rubber thing(unbeknownst to me) to tie our beach bag to the pole in the clamshell and nothing was lost.

Of course we did not have the crown jewels in that bag but would have felt violated had these kids taken our bag.

I use my Carnival water wallet in carry our ship cards,cash,and credit card and I.D. anyway so they would have only got my camera.

Never ,ever take a purse off a cruise ship.

The minute you leave the ship there will be eyes on your purse.