Jellyfish?

minnjudy

Are jellyfish a concern in St. Martin waters? My family is alittle freaky about them, and would like to know when booking excursions.

icon_rolleyes.gificon_eek.gificon_rolleyes.gif

RC Nordic Empress 1/92 Bahamas

RC Enchantment W Carib 1/01

Legend to Hawaii 3/03

Next:

Carib Princess E Carib 6/04

I'm not a expert, and don't know anything about how they vary seasonally.

We saw them when we were there a couple of years ago when we were snorkling.

Most of the ones we saw were pretty harmless ones that were underwater and didn't have trailing stingers and we just swam around the others.

The snorkle guide showed us how we could gently stoke or guide them by touching thier top.

BigDave

My first cruise: Enchantment, Eastern Caribbean - 10/13/2002

My second cruise: Rhapsody, Western Caribbean - 4/4/2004

My next cruise: Radiance, Eastern Caribbean

countdown.cgi?trgb=000000&srgb=00ff00&prgb=229922&cdt=2005;2;13;17;0;00&timezone=GMT-0500

So glad this question was asked! I've been meaning to ask it myself. When we were in PV a year ago there were tons of them in the water. Everyone was getting stung. I haven't heard anything about them in the Caribbean, but from above post I guess they are there too! We're going in June. Hope that's not the season!

My husband is allergic to the Jellyfish stings. He puffs up like a puffer fish! We now carry Claritan tablets, the kind that just melt in your mouth, no water needed. He takes one before snokeling, just in case. (On our last cruise, he ended up in the Medical Center because of jellyfish stings. That is when we decided he would take a claritan before snorkeling from now on, no matter where we are.)

WooHoo, cruisin' again in May 2004!